Whole Wheat Pancakes

Who doesn’t love breakfast for dinner?  Eating pancakes for dinner makes me feel like a kid again! Plus they’re best because they’re quick and easy, no fuss or muss and they’re ready really quickly (great for when you’re feeling lazy but super hungry).  The only part that stinks is the cook has to keep on cookin’ while everyone else is eating (I, however, have mastered the art of standing, cooking, and eating. Now that’s multitasking for ya!).

I’ve tried so many whole wheat pancake recipes that I can’t even keep count, and none of them have been memorable enough to make again.  The greatest judge is usually my dad…If he can tell it’s made with whole wheat, he just won’t eat it (stubborn). This recipe that I found while looking in a pinch tonight was appealing because it’s easy and has few ingredients.  They weren’t the fluffiest pancakes I’ve ever had, but they weren’t as dense as I usually find whole wheat pancakes to be.  I’d give this recipe a 2 out of 3 forks rating, just because I liked them but I don’t think the fussiest of eaters would love them.

http://www.theidearoom.net/2011/07/whole-wheat-pancakes.html

P.S.  I also tried a second Pinterest recipe I’ve come across many times…. Bacon strip pancakes, or pancake covered bacon.. not really sure how to describe it.  I used this pancake batter and attempted to make the pancakes two different ways. First I cooked two slices bacon through.  For the first I poured a strip of pancake batter, placed the bacon on top, and then covered it with more batter.  For the second I just poured the batter directly over the strip of bacon.  Both came out good, but I preferred the first.  It’s also not the easiest to make neat strips (They come out more like mutant blobs), but I suppose it doesn’t matter, it’s all going to the same place anyway!

This recipe calls for:

– 1 ½ Cups Whole Wheat Flour

-1 T Baking Powder

-3 T Brown Sugar or Raw Sugar

-2 Eggs (Separate the yolks from the whites)

-1 ½ Cups Milk

-3 T Oil

First, mix together the WW Flour, Baking Powder, and Brown Sugar.  I also add a little bit of cinnamon to my pancake batter because it just gives it a little bit more flavor.
IMG_7907

Next, add in the milk, oil, and egg yolks (I also add in a little bit of vanilla extract). Mix the batter together.  In a separate bowl, whip the egg whites and then fold them into the batter.IMG_7908And there ya go, batter is ready! Told you it was quick and easy.

IMG_7909

Pour your batter onto a heated and greased skillet or griddle. However much batter you use depends on how big you like your pancakes.  I usually use about ¼ cup to scoop them.IMG_7912

When you see bubbles like this, your pancakes are ready to flip! If you flip them too soon, you’ll probably end up with undercooked or heavy pancakes. IMG_7913

Eat up! You can top them with whatever your little kid at heart desires! For me, I just like a little bit of smart balance butter and Mrs. Butterworths… mmmmmIMG_7914

This entry was published on April 26, 2014 at 9:33 pm. It’s filed under Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

