Asian Chicken Lettuce Wraps

IMG_7782

While I was on vacation in Florida, I went to happy hour at a restaurant called The Grand Luxe Cafe.  Who doesn’t love half off appetizers??  I had always wanted to try lettuce wraps but when I have to choose something over any of the deliciously bad for you fried options, I could never bring myself to do it.  But this time, I finally did, and they were absolutely DELICIOUS! So when I got home I decided to look on Pinterest for a recipe that MIGHT be somewhat similar.  Unfortunately, I have to keep looking.  I found two separate recipes that were very similar but had a few different ingredients in each I wanted to incorporate.

These are the two recipes I used:

http://www.emilybites.com/2011/11/asian-chicken-lettuce-wraps.html

http://www.bhg.com/recipe/asian-chicken-lettuce-wraps/

I used the Marinade and Sauce ingredients exactly as listed on emilybites. The filling ingredients is mostly what I changed up just because I wanted a few more veggies included.  I sautéed it all as directed but then also put it in a slow cooker on low for a few hours because I made it way ahead of time.

I made this for my friends and it earned 2 out of 3 forks (pretty clever rating system, right? haha).  They loved it, or at least said they did, but I felt like it was lacking in flavor…it was just missing something and I don’t know what.

My search will continue and hopefully I’ll get a better recipe next time!

Mix together marinade with the meat

Mix together marinade with the meat

Mix together ingredients for the sauce

Mix together ingredients for the sauce

WASH the mushrooms. They were in the ground, they still have dirt on them! Yuck!

WASH the mushrooms. They were in the ground, they still have dirt on them! Yuck!

Chop up filling ingredients: Carrots, Shiitake Mushrooms, Green Onions, Water Chestnuts, and Bamboo Shoots

Chop up filling ingredients: Carrots, Shiitake Mushrooms, Green Onions, Water Chestnuts, and Bamboo Shoots

IMG_7776

Cook the meat until browned (I used coconut oil)

Cook the meat until browned (I used coconut oil)

Add in the filling ingredients and sauce, sauté

Add in the filling ingredients and sauce, sauté

You don't have to do this, but one of the recipes called for cooking for the remainder of the time in a slow cooker.

You don’t have to do this, but one of the recipes called for cooking for the remainder of the time in a slow cooker.

At least it looked good. Wish it tasted as good as it looked!

At least it looked good. Wish it tasted as good as it looked!

I served it with some brown rice that I mixed with soy sauce and sesame seed

I served it with some brown rice that I mixed with soy sauce and sesame seeds

This entry was published on April 23, 2014 at 6:41 pm. It’s filed under Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

