Healthy Chipotle Chicken Sweet Potato Skins

I came across this recipe and could not resist it. I LOVE sweet potatoes…and I mean LOVE.  I find them to be a comfort food.  They’re especially comforting when you’re not in a very good mood and you get to stab them with a fork…repeatedly 🙂 .  Anyway, this is not the first time I’ve made this recipe but it comes out awesome every time.  It can be  little time consuming to make, but it’s worth it.  Just make sure you have all your ingredients prepped and ready and it should only take about an hour from start to finish.  It’s definitely a healthy dinner without the guilt, and it’s filling!

I’ve supplied the steps and ingredients I used, but here’s the link to the original post: http://www.halfbakedharvest.com/healthy-chipotle-chicken-sweet-potato-skins/

So this is what I did…

To make things easier on yourself when cooking, make sure you take all your ingredients out beforehand (god only knows how many times I've been in the middle of a recipe and realized I didn't have half the things I needed..oops!) For this recipe you'll need: -3-4 medium sweet potatoes -3/4 pound (about 3 small) boneless skinless chicken breast -1/4 cups olive oil -2 tablespoon fresh lime juice -2 cloves garlic, minced or grated -3 whole chipotle pepper, minced (These are spicy! so adjust to your own heat level) -1 teaspoon dried oregano -1 teaspoon cumin -2 teaspoons chili powder -salt and pepper -2 (half a 10oz bag) cups spinach (I used a whole bag) -5 ounces sharp white cheddar cheese, grated -chopped cilantro, for garnish -greek yogurt, for serving

To make things easier on yourself when cooking, make sure you take all your ingredients out beforehand (god only knows how many times I’ve been in the middle of a recipe and realized I didn’t have half the things I needed..oops!)
For this recipe you’ll need:
-3-4 medium sweet potatoes
-3/4 pound (about 3 small) boneless skinless chicken breast
-1/4 cups olive oil
-2 tablespoon fresh lime juice
-2 cloves garlic, minced or grated
-3 whole chipotle pepper, minced (These are spicy! so adjust to your own heat level)
-1 teaspoon dried oregano
-1 teaspoon cumin
-2 teaspoons chili powder
-salt and pepper
-2 (half a 10oz bag) cups spinach (I used a whole bag)
-5 ounces sharp white cheddar cheese, grated
-chopped cilantro, for garnish
-greek yogurt, for serving

The recipe says you should cook the chicken in the oven... but it was GORGEOUS out today and I felt like taking advantage of the grill. You can do it either way, to each his own.

The recipe says you should cook the chicken in the oven… but it was GORGEOUS out today and I felt like taking advantage of the grill. You can do it either way, to each his own.

STAB...I mean poke the potatoes (haha) with a fork and then rub them with olive oil, salt and pepper.  I didn't feel like waiting an hour+ for the potatoes to cook in the oven so I cooked them in the microwave first for 6 minutes and then finished them off in the oven.

STAB…I mean poke the potatoes (haha) with a fork and then rub them with olive oil, salt and pepper. I didn’t feel like waiting an hour+ for the potatoes to cook in the oven so I cooked them in the microwave first for 6 minutes and then finished them off in the oven.

Mix together all those ingredients you got out earlier, and then just set this aside. It smells so delicious, just FYI.  You're going to baste this sauce onto your sweet potatoes once they come out of the oven and you cut them in half and scoop them out.  Then throw it (don't actually throw it) back into the oven for 5-10 more minutes so the sauce cooks into the potatoes

Mix together all those ingredients you got out earlier, and then just set this aside. It smells so delicious, just FYI. ******You’re going to baste this sauce onto your sweet potatoes once they come out of the oven and you cut them in half and scoop them out. Then throw it (don’t actually throw it) back into the oven for 5-10 more minutes so the sauce cooks into the potatoes

Again, I used a whole bag of spinach because it looses like 3/4 of it's bulk as soon as it's cooked.  MAKE SURE YOU WASH IT. I don't care if it's says pre-washed... I've seen way too many of those news stories about dead frogs and lizards found in packaged spinach and lettuce. yuck.

Again, I used a whole bag of spinach because it looses like 3/4 of it’s bulk as soon as it’s cooked. MAKE SURE YOU WASH IT. I don’t care if it says pre-washed… I’ve seen way too many of those news stories about dead frogs and lizards found in packaged spinach and lettuce. yuck. Wash it.

Don't shred the chicken as soon as it's cooked. I promised it will be hot and you will burn yourself and you will say some not so nice words. Wait like 10 minutes.

Don’t shred the chicken as soon as it’s cooked. I promised it will be hot and you will burn yourself and you will say some not so nice words. Wait like 10 minutes. Then you can use two forks to pull it apart or chop it up with a knife.

After you've WASHED and dried the spinach, throw it into a sauté pan on medium high and let it start to wilt.

After you’ve WASHED and dried the spinach, throw it into a sauté pan on medium high heat and let it start to wilt.

Once the spinach started to wilt, mix in the shredded chicken and remaining chipotle sauce

Once the spinach started to wilt, mix in the shredded chicken and remaining chipotle sauce

Shred your cheese, or use the pre-shredded kind, up to you. I used what I had on hand.

Shred your cheese, or use the pre-shredded kind, up to you. I used what I had on hand.

Fill the potatoes with the chicken, spinach, and chipotle sauce mixture.

Fill the potatoes with the chicken, spinach, and chipotle sauce mixture.

Then load on the cheese. MMMMMMMMM cheeeeeeeese :) Put it back into the oven for another 5-10 minutes until the cheese is melted

Then load on the cheese. MMMMMMMMM cheeeeeeeese 🙂
Put it back into the oven for another 5-10 minutes until the cheese is melted

mmmmmmmmmmmmm

YUMMMMMMMMMMM

Serve yourself....and other people if you feel like it, and use some plain greek yogurt to top it off. It's not exactly sour cream, but it's close, and it's healthy and also offsets the heat from the chipotles. Bon Appetite!

Serve yourself….and other people if you feel like it, and use some plain greek yogurt to top it off. It’s not exactly sour cream, but it’s close, and it’s healthy. It also offsets the heat from the chipotles. Bon Appetite!

This entry was published on April 11, 2014 at 7:36 pm and is filed under Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

